Back to the Beginning

October 15, 2018, 7:30 pm

The Florence Symphony Orchestra is going “Back to the Beginning” as the symphony marks its 70th anniversary. The first concert of the season will feature two pieces played at the inaugural concert in 1949; Beethoven’s Overture to “Egmont,” op. 84 and Tales from the Vienna Woods, op. 325 by Strauss. The concert will also feature pieces from Barber, Schubert and Brahms.

Tickets are still available and can be purchased by calling the FMU Performing Arts Center box office at (843) 661-4444.


Adagio for Strings, op. 11 | Barber
Overture to “Egmont,” op. 84 | Beethoven 
Symphony No. 8 “Unfinished” in B minor  |  Schubert
Variations on a Theme by Haydn, op. 56A | Brahms
Tales from the Vienna Woods, op. 325 | Johann Strauss, Jr.




Rhapsody and Romance

November 19, 2018, 7:30 pm



Overture to Tannhäuser | Wagner
Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, op. 43 | Rachmaninoff
Romeo and Juliet Suite No. 2 | Prokofiev


 Mackenzie Melemedpiano